Confessions of a PTA Mafia Mom

So I was asked to do a review of a brand new book, Confessions of a PTA Mafia Mom by Elsie Love. Yay, new books! For those of you who know me well, you know that once I get a new book, I tear through it as quickly as I can.

This book was such a great read that I didn’t want to put it down! It’s a story about a wife and mother who suddenly has to come to terms with some pretty harsh truths about the life she thought she was leading, and her relationships with her husband and kids.

Lanie’s life was sinking to the bottom of a wine bottle, and her spirit was sinking along with it. An unwilling inductee into the PTA, Lanie suddenly found herself in the middle of a world she didn’t think existed within her quiet little community. And this PTA? It is lead by *those* moms…y’know, the ones who have it all together–or appear to. Flawless makeup and annoyingly perky WAY too early in the morning.

Admit it, ladies! There are days…weeks even, that you feel like you are not in charge of your life the way you’d like to be. I completely empathized with Lanie when she met the ladies of the PTA. Since having my kids, and becoming all that encompasses being a MOM, I have come to accept that fact that I don’t get out of my pajamas some days, and that I put my kids first before I shower or put on makeup (if I even do put it on!), and sometimes wonder if I’ve eaten that day because I’ve been so focused on other things.

Following her run-ins with the PTA moms (and a revelation about her personal life), Lanie is thrown into a series of events that sends her on the rollercoaster ride of her life, full of suspense, fear, and, unexpectedly, emotional growth.

I truly enjoyed this book. It had me on the edge of my seat, and also made me giggle out loud. An awesome combination.

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a PTA Mafia Mom

  1. Optimistic Mom says:

    Thanks for sharing the brief overview. I am following you on twitter and thought I would stop by and check out your blog. Glad to find a good book review, I'll add it to my list.

Comment

