Let’s Go Play Together

I had intended to write this post on Blogger, but due to maintenence issues the past few days, I had to post it on my skirt! blog.  Whatever.  I’m going to share it here too.  🙂

The past couple weeks have been busy, crazy, wild and chaotic. Sometimes I think: I hang out with kids and get to play all day, so why oh why am I stressed out?

(Let me know when you parents stop laughing… Done yet?)

Seriously though, it is a tough job, taking care of kids 24/7, as all of you caregivers/parents are aware. But why have I been making it so difficult for myself? I should be having fun with it. I should be taking advantage of the times when I get to chase the kids around in the backyard, tickle their little toes, play peek-a-boo, make silly noises and funny faces, do messy crafts and play with water.

When my daughter was a toddler, I was working weird hours, so I was home alone with her during the day 4 days a week. We’d watch GMA so I could be “up on the news” and then we’d watch the Ellen Degeneres Show to dance along with Ellen, and then we’d turn off the TV and play. All day. But somewhere in between job changes, us buying a house, and a myriad of other small changes, I lost that focus of JUST being with her, playing, reading, dancing, running around outside, and it has continued since the birth of our second child, and now into his toddlerhood. I think I became more focused on getting things done, and less on being the playful mom.

I wrote a guest post submission for AndNobodyToldMe.com (it’s not been featured as of yet) about my most-used word being NO. I feel like that is how it’s been lately, especially with caring for 4 kids instead of 2, and my attention being even more divided. I spend my days making sure nobody is bleeding or has broken bones and that the house is still standing. To get anything done, I encourage the kids to play with each other.

Instead of “Go play!” let it be, “Let’s go play together!” The dishes and laundry and phone calls can wait (and so can the guilt). Maybe I don’t suck at the Mom thing as much as think I do sometimes. Maybe I just need to relax and go play.

4 thoughts on “Let’s Go Play Together

  1. Jen says:

    Oh wow, I can so relate to this!! I too have 4 kids, and I can't seem to "get it all done" anymore PLUS play with the kids all the time! Nice to "meet" you!Jen

  2. Charise @ I Thought I Knew Mama says:

    This is such a good reminder to play more and worry about to do's less! I definitely have days where I lose sight. Thank you for the great post! And what an awesome mama you are for being mindful of this with two little ones. I don't know how I'll ever be able to do it if/when we have another!

Comment

