A Target Snob No More

I am now a reformed Target snob.  We usually shop at Target, as the one we go to is connected to our mall and is convenient (and we use the Target brand diapers for our little one).  Not to mention the fact that our old Walmart was so scary that it could have been home base for the famed website People of Walmart.

Anyway, we now have a SuperWalmart which replaced our old Walmart on the other side of the city.  Fancy new digs, I tell ya.  We shopped at the SuperWalmart the other night, and as we were unloading the groceries at home, my husband was telling me what a good deal he got on this, and how that was a heckuva lot cheaper than at our grocery store.  This new store has aisles are that are wider, the staff is more helpful and the patrons are less creepy.  Holy cow!  Did we just become Walmart shoppers?

Don’t get me wrong, we’ll still shop at Target for a lot of things, but sheesh…how liberating it is to realize that the unwashed masses are not that “unwashed”?

**I humbly apologize to Walmart for using their logo without written permission.  As I am writing a fairly glowing review of their establishment, I’m hoping they will not hold it against me.

7 thoughts on “A Target Snob No More

  1. Matthew says:

    But beneath that thin veneer of fresh newness, there's still that giant retailer that keeps wages low and strong-arms manufacturers to provide those cheap prices. Not to mention that they take the profits on down to Arkansas, whereas Target is at least based in Minnesota and spends their extra cash here.Here's another killer: Wal-Mart policy dictates that they will not sell their vacated stores to anyone who could potentially compete with them. So, those empty stores will most likely sit empty for years since they only thing they're really suited for is a big retailer like Wal-Mart.There's a whole list of issues with Wal-Mart (and other big retailers): http://www.strongtowns.org/journal/2011/3/7/wal-mart-too-big-to-fail.html*sigh* Sorry, I guess I'm just anti-Wal-Mart. It's not that I don't like to save a buck here and there, it's just that sometimes it doesn't seem worth it to save that dollar in a big-picture sense.

  2. Kim says:

    Matt, I totally get what you're saying. Many of those reasons are why I made the choice to NOT shop there in the first place. I feel like a snob though, as we (Josh and I) were very critical of not just the store itself, but the patrons…especially the patrons in our fine city's Walmart. I definitely don't feel like fantastic for shopping there; it was just refreshing to see that (some) things change. The idea of shopping locally to support our small towns is a great one.

  3. Truthful Mommy says:

    All I know is I have TRIED to be able to tolerate Wal-Mart but every time a new one opens, its all shiny and clean. Give it a month or so and all the good People of Wal-Mart will once again surface. I am,at the core, a Target shopper. I have grown particularly fond of the predictability of knowing that if I walk in for toilet paper, each and every time, I KNOW I will NEVER walk out having spent less than $80:)

  4. Kim says:

    SO true! I can't remember a time when we haven't spent at least $50 at Target! I will say, if given the choice, I will shop at Target. I suppose, it may be just a matter of time that the new Walmart is *not* as presentable as it is now.

  5. Tracey - Just Another Mommy Blog says:

    Honestly? I can't really afford Target. ISn't that sad? That said, WalMart provides services and goods for people that could not otherwise purchase them. It is not the fault of the lower class that the store they can afford may be classified as "unclean" or may have less than desirable marketing standards. WalMart is here to stay. Rather than fight it, I would like to see a move to improve what already exists.

  6. Selena says:

    I am with Matt above about what an evil corporation Wal Mart is. And add to that the Wal-Mart model of pay the lowest wage and keeping down costs by not hiring people on full time becoming the standard personnel model for most of the country and I can honestly say that I HATE WalMart. HOWEVER, when I was out in AZ and Ben's business was in the process of collapsing, we discovered that we could actually "live better" and really stretch our dollar by buying a lot of the basics at WalMart rather than Target or the other grocery stores. And I was SOOOO pissed that only us broke bastards seemed to care about the politics of Walmart and we were the ones who NEEDED the savings, right? There are 3 Walmarts here in my town (back in NY) and let me tell you, the SCARIEST people on earth go there. I have to go in, get my shit, and get out. There is no stopping to look at the aquariums (Lila's favorite) or snacking at the inter-Wal Mart McDonalds. It is just too stressful to be in there….

Comment

