Water, Water, Everywhere

“Water, water, everywhere
Water near and far
Let’s use our hands and feet
To count how many kinds there are…”
(from a Baby Einstein bath book)

One of my favorite activities to do with my daughter is to take her outside, give her a bucket of water and some cups and spoons, and let her go nuts.  It’s so fun to watch her play and splash and giggle.  The ultimate expression of joy spreads over her face.  She loves being allowed to make a big of a splash as she wanted and not get into trouble.  Watching her play in the wading pool at our local park is hilarious, because I see in her face the same joy I felt as a child, playing in the water at the lake.  When I was younger, going to visit my grandparents in Boston was so exciting because we got to go to the beach!

I spent 3 summers in Florida after high school, working for a summer camp.  We traveled from coast to coast and top to bottom of the state.  I once again fell in love with the ocean.  It gave me so much joy to be near the open water. Swimming, snorkeling, sailing, sitting on the beach, talking with friends and relaxing, the taste of the salt on my lips and the feeling of peace after a day at the beach; I couldn’t get enough.

My wish is to be able to share the ocean with my kids some day.  For them to see the beautiful blues and greens of the water, and run and jump in the waves.  Feel the warm sand between their toes and the pull of the tide, the waves splashing their legs.

For me, the thought of water brings back joyful memories.

14 thoughts on “Water, Water, Everywhere

  1. Cheryl says:

    It's truly amazing how much kids connect with water. My toddler is always messing with the dogs' water dish on our back patio – and I can't stop him because he's just so happy!

  2. Nichole says:

    I sometimes fill the sink in our powder room with water, cups, and spoons and my daughter can play in it for hours. She is just soothed by it.So happy you linked up with us. 🙂 ps…You may find that people will be much more likely to comment if you remove word verification. 🙂

  3. Carrie says:

    I love swimming. When I was a child I spent so much time in the water. We were lucky and had a pool in our backyard. It was cold but on a hot summer day it was perfect :)I can't wait to share my love of swimming with my girlsVisiting from RDC

  4. Sandi a::k::a KnitMyRhino says:

    I started with buckets in the yard too. Then my boy got older and wanted to be an evil genius. So he graduated to the kitchen sink, kitchen utensils, and food coloring. He has so much fun spooning the water and mixing the colors. Its a mess to clean up, but the excitement on his face is worth every second. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Mandyland says:

    My kids play with buckets of water as soon as we start working in our garden. Which means, we have to come inside and take warm shower for cold little hands. 🙂

  6. tsonodablog says:

    Brought me back to when my kids were little and I filled up the tiny wading pool in the front yard. They went nuts. Everyone got wet, including me and sometimes the neighbors. It is a fun memory.Nice post!

  7. Andrea (ace1028) says:

    I love this! I do the same thing. Except when it's chilly out my daughter turns our bathroom into a water zone! WHich makes me a little bit loopy. 🙂 Great post and cute picture!

Comment

