30 Days of Truth, Day Two

Day 02 → Something you love about yourself.

For some reason, I found it much easier to write the entry for Day One.  Loving yourself is hard to do sometimes.  I think for me, it’s the small things that add up to my happiness. 

I love that I have learned so much about myself since becoming an “adult.”  And I love that I have been open to that.  Self-discovery can come in so many different ways, and the way you learn shows a lot about a person. 

I love my husband and the love we have for each other.  I love that he and I have created the most beautiful children I could have ever hoped to have.  I love that we have grown with each other in this journey of parenthood, and that we continue to grow.  I love that even though we struggle at times, at the end of the day we still love each other for who we are.  I love our history together and our future to come.  I love that we can laugh together.  I love that we learn from each other in ways that we didn’t expect.

I love my children.  I love their brilliance in spirit, their innocence, their wonder in the world around them.  I love seeing my daughter grow in her abilities to do things and I love the joy in her eyes when she learns something new.  I love my son’s endless curiousity and his endless tenacity.  I love the fact that he shows a silly sense of humor already, at such a young age. 

I love my work.  I love the people I serve and the ways that I am able to help them.  I love the fact that even though I haven’t been happy at all of my jobs, I have been able to continue to help people. 

I love my relationships with my family.  I love the closeness I have with my mother and sister and that I count them as friends rather than just family.  I love that my big brother will always be my protective big brother. I love that I can still hold my dad’s hand.  I love the fond memories I have of my grandparents, and that I am able to look back on their lives and know that they did wonderful things with their lives.  I love my parents-in-law because they have accepted me into their family, as one of their own.  I love that even with the craziness of their lives, they will always support us. 

I love that, even in adulthood, I have a Best Friend.  I love that my friends and I can sit around and talk about serious things, or about nothing at all, and still have a good time.  I love having someone to go to who will be my cheerleader, my listening ear, my sounding board, my grounding force. 

I love that I have “survived” life thus far.  I love that my hardships and downfalls have not overtaken me.  I love that I have been made stronger by having a challenging daily reminder to be humble. 

I love my past, because it has led me to where I am today.  I love my future, because I am able to choose where it leads me next.

Comment

